Zu den Inhalten springen

Spitzenmedizin mit Herz


Pieter de Tombe, Prof. Dr.

  • Myofilament dysfunction in heart failure
  • Frank-Starling’s Law of the Heart & Myofilament function

Pieter de Tombe received his undergraduate training in Chemistry in the Netherlands. He received his PhD graduate training in Physiology at the University of Calgary, Canada (1985-1989) studying cardiac sarcomere dynamics in Dr. ter Keur’s laboratory, followed by Post-Doctoral training in bioengineering at the Johns Hopkins University, Maryland (1989-191) studying cardiac pump function and energetics in the Sagawa laboratory.  He was appointed to his first independent faculty position at Wake-Forest University, North Carolina (1991-1996), in the division of Cardiology as Assistant Professor (1991), and Associate Professor (1996). In 1996 he joined the department of Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) rising to the rank of Professor in 2002. In 2008, he was appointed the James DePauw Professor of Physiology and Chair of the department of Cell and Molecular Physiology at the Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine. May 1, 2017, Pieter relocated back to UIC (part-time) as well as the University of Freiburg, Germany.
Pieter’s research program focuses on the cellular mechanisms underlying depressed cardiac function in heart failure, and the regulation of sarcomere dynamics underlying the Frank-Starling mechanism. He has trained numerous graduate students and Post-Doctoral fellows, published >150 journal articles, and has been funded by the Whitaker foundation for bioengineering, the American Diabetes Association, the American Heart Association, and the National Institutes of Health (the latter continuously since 1992). He is an Associate editor for Pflugers Archiv European Journal of Physiology and the Journal of Cellular and Molecular Cardiology, and member of the editorial boards several other journals. He regularly serves on national and international grant review panels, including the American Heart Association and the National Institutes of Health. Pieter is council officer of the International Society of Heart Research, the Association of Chairs of Physiology, and the Science Policy Committee of the American Physiological Society.